Use the interactive map to find out more about each section of the Way. Whether you are planning to walk the whole route or choosing a smaller section, the map above will provide you with accommodation options and useful local information.
Click on a section to bring up a virtual brochure of your chosen destination.

Once you have decided where you would like to stay during your holiday, use the links on the right to book your accommodation online. Alternatively you can download our Accommodation Guide from the link below right or request a free printed copy by post via the link for our online enquiry form on the homepage.

Open pages 1 - 20 of accommodation ebrochure
Open pages 21 - 40 of accommodation ebrochure

The Southern Upland Way is waymarked throughout its length using the standard thistle symbol.
“The Southern Upland Way Guide” by Roger Smith, Published by Mercat Press is available from all good bookshops, ISBN: 1-84183-077-1, or at The guide comes complete with its own 1: 0,000 OS route map and has illustrated descriptions of the route with detailed information on the historical, cultural, archaeological and wildlife interest along the Way. The following OS maps include sections of the SUW.

Here is a list of all the Ordnance Survey maps needed for the Southern Upland Way. Our homepage also has a link to the Ordnance Survey website so you can view the detailed maps online immediately.

Ordnance Survey, Explorer Maps:
309 Stranraer and The Rhinns
310 Glenluce and Kirkcowan
318 Galloway Forest Park North
319 Galloway Forest Park South
320 Castle Douglas, Loch Ken and New Galloway
322 Annandale, Annan, Lockerbie & Beattock
328 Sanquhar and New Cumnock
329 Lowtherhills, Sanquhar and Leadhills
330 Moffat and St Mary’s Loch
337 Peebles and Innerleithen
338 Galashiels, Selkirk and Melrose
34 Lammermuir Hills
346 Berwick upon Tweed

Click for Accommodation pdf

Ordnance Survey, Landranger Maps:
82 Stranraer & Glenluce
76 Girvan
77 Dalmellington & New Galloway Forest Park
78 Nithsdale & Annandale: Sanquhar and Moffat
79 Hawick & Eskdale
73 Peebles, Galashiels and Selkirk: Tweed Valley
74 Kelso and Coldstream: Jedburgh and Duns
67 Duns Dunbar and Eyemouth


Copyright © 2007 Dumfries & Galloway Council